skip navigation


By MYHA, 06/01/23, 5:15PM EDT


Each season, MYHA selects a coach of the year from each of its core programs—House, Girls Travel, and Boys/Co-ed Travel—for the Cleveland Howard Coach of the Year Award.

MYHA is pleased to announce that for the 2022-23 season the following coaches were selected for this prestigious award.

House: Mark Giron, Peewee Team 6

On his Peewee House team Mark Giron not only focused on teaching the game of hockey, but also emphasized the importance of hard work on and off the ice.  “(Coach Giron) made sure everyone knew they were valued, and every player had their teammates’ back. He ended every Sunday game with a reminder to finish their homework.”

Youth Travel: Marc Bragin, 12U B Blue

Marc Bragin was an inspiration to his team as stated by one of his players on the 12U B Blue team,  ”(Coach Bragin) gave us the best pep-talk I’ve ever heard.  He talked about willpower, aggressiveness, and gave us examples of plays to do.  After that pep-talk, we won 4-3 with a last second snapshot.  I will always remember that speech and the effect it had on my teammates and me."

Girls Travel: Dave Evans, Girls 14U AA Gold

Dave Evans won the Girls Travel award for his commitment to the values of positive coaching and player development. As one parent wrote in their nomination, “(Coach Evans) fostered the most positive team culture I have seen on about 15 teams my kids have played on over the last 7 years.  Through his leadership, the kids all supported each other and became amazing friends.  Simply put, he was a spectacular coach.”  

MYHA selects coaches for this award based on quantitative and qualitative aspects of nominations that you, the members, submit at the end of the season.  We are fortunate to have so many deserving coaches who dedicate countless hours to the development of our children as hockey players.  In fact, MYHA boasts over 200 head and assistant volunteer coaches in our House and Travel programs combined. We are also fortunate to have many teams that achieved success on the scoreboard, competing at the highest levels in their divisions.   However, this award is ultimately about recognizing the coaches that, based on your input, exemplify MYHA’s philosophy and its commitment to positive coaching and fostering a lifetime love of hockey.  
While the award often correlates with team performance, team performance is not a criterion considered by the Coach of the Year Committee.

Please congratulate Dave Evans, Mark Giron, and Marc Bragin on their accomplishments and thank them for their contributions to MYHA. Because of their work and that of all our volunteer coaches, our program continues to be one of great value to our member families.  This year's winners' names will be added to the Cleveland Howard Coach of the Year Award plaque that can be found in the Rockville Ice Arena’s lobby outside of Rink 1.